The Brow, the Nose and the Stress

I’m bad at introductions, so no introduction this time.

1) The Pelicans’ Anthony Davis is having a hell of a season. His statistics are monstrous (20 points on 52% shooting, 10 rebounds, 2.9 blocks per game), and he will be a force to reckon with in the coming years as he continues to learn how to use his unfair wingspan and perimeter prowess.

Image courtesy of ballislife.com

Image courtesy of ballislife.com

FUN FACT: Davis was a point guard in high school. Here is a timeline of his growth spurt:

End of freshman year: 6’0″
Start of sophomore year: 6’1″
End of sophomore year: 6’4″
Start of junior year: 6’7″
End of junior year: 6’8″

He reached 6’10” at the start of his first collegiate year. Davis retained his point guard know-hows as his height grew, and it was only inevitable that he would widen his basketball arsenal to adjust to his expanding frame. Today, Davis is one of the quickest big me in the game, sporting ball handling skills and an above average jumpshot (which isn’t exactly common for big men). His albatross-like wingspan (7’4″) combined with his freakish athleticism allow him to post the above-mentioned rebounding and shot-blocking numbers (which he leads the league in). He’s the only player I’ve seen so far that has actually rejected LaMarcus Aldridge’s signature turnaround jumpshot — twice. It’s no surprise that he’s one of the candidates for Most Improved Player. Not many people could have thought The Brow could make this big a leap — though not as big a surprise as the Suns’ Gerald Green, who was seen by many as a one-dimensional player whose sole use was creating highlights.

Anthony Davis’ name is also being brought up in the Defensive Player of the Year conversations, by referencing his league-leading 2.9 blocks per game (at one point earlier in the season, he was averaging 3.9). This is where I take issue.

Who are my picks for Defensive Player of the Year? I’ll name some: the Pacers’ Roy Hibbert, the Bulls’ Joakim Noah, the Warriors’ Andrew Bogut and Andre Iguodala, the Clippers’ DeAndre Jordan; these are just off the top of my head. What do these players have in common? Their clubs are in the top 10 in Defensive Rating (points per game given up per 100 possessions) in the league — the Bobcats and the Thunder are also up there, as well as the Spurs and Raptors. But in their cases, it’s mostly their defensive schemes as a team that hold their opponents down. In the case of the Bobcats, its their commitment to transition defense. The above mentioned players are also in teams with great defensive schemes, don’t get me wrong, but they are the anchors. There are statistics that support their cases, such as defensive rating adjustments when they are on the court and on the bench.

Anthony Davis is a young player, and will probably continue to learn how to capitalize on his size, especially on the defensive end. But the Pelicans are 27th in the league in defensive rating, giving up 107.3 points per 100 possessions. That is definitely not a good indicator of a winning team, much less a candidate for Defensive Player of the Year.

I am not hating on The Brow. I actually like him as a player. I prefer him over the Clippers’ Blake Griffin, quite frankly — who is a tremendous flop artist with an ugly looking free throw (I said I prefer Davis, but I don’t think he’s better than Blake). What I am saying is that putting him in the conversation for Defensive Player of the Year just isn’t right yet. Maybe it’s not the right time. In the near future perhaps. But not now. Not when the Pelicans are ravaged by injuries, 12th in their conference, last in their division and 27th in the league in defensive rating.

2) The so-called art of cosmetics never ceases to confuse me. I thought I had known enough to be able to understand why women take forever to dress up through conversations with Catherine. I THOUGHT. Then recently I discovered that there is a brand of face powder that costs somewhere around P2000. I thought P800 was madness. P2000 is pure insanity. There’s also a brand of eyeliner that costs P1500. Insanity, I tell you. I also saw this hairbrush somewhere in Gateway Araneta that had a price tag of P1600. Seriously? A hairbrush? There’s also apparently a powder used to make the nose more…emphasized. Such lengths we go through, eh?

I could feed myself for 2 weeks with P1600. 3 weeks, if I’m particularly thrifty (WHICH I AM NOT. WHEN IT COMES TO FOOD).

This perplexity with cosmetics stems mostly from my abhorrence of it. In my personal opinion, cosmetics serve to reinforce appearance-based preconceptions. One who places weight on how he or she looks tends to judge other people by the same standard. That is shallow-minded thinking. It’s okay to mind how you look, of course, but when cosmetics come into play, you begin to put yourself on an artificial pedestal. Whatever happened to natural looks? I dream of the time where people could master — as Tinaii puts it — ‘the art of not caring’.

At the end of the day, how you value yourself is truly measured by your capabilities, not your face, your skin, your hair or your nails.

While I type this, by the way, I consult with Catherine. She did make a good point by saying men are willing to pull out P5000 for a pair of shoes, P2000 for a game disc, and in my case, P2500 for a pair of earphones.

sq1

3) Another recent realization has something to do with loathing, particularly with people. Most, if not all of us, have a person (sometimes, plural) we have negative feelings for. Most of the time, it’s only momentarily — your parents scold you, your boss berates you, your friend beats you in a game, your older brother beats you in a game and teases you all afternoon for it, your grandfather yells at you for being too near (when I’m actually a good 2 meters away from the car in front of me), your dog peed on your bed, you dog took a dump on your bed, your little sister refuses to eat her vegetables, your parents made you eat vegetables etc etc etc.

We get by with those negative feels with people once we are able to release them. Once we are able to express to these people how bad we feel, it’s done. Once we let it out, we feel better. Especially if you are able to tell these feelings to the actual sources of bad vibes.

But when we are unable to release the stress, we begin to plant seeds of hate. When we begin to plant seeds of hate, those seeds will have nothing else to do but grow. For a variety of reasons, we can’t let these people know about these negative feels. For example, I am unable to express my disdain for a colleague because it’s an unprofessional act and would only create tremors in the work that has to be done, which is of higher priority than my feelings. But as we continue to allow these emotions to run amok inside of us, we also allow these perceived sources of negativity to continue making us feel like this.

We have to be more open with our emotions. A positive flow of emotions will always be visible in a person’s visage, but so will negativity. Your emotions manifest, whether you like it or not. So rather than letting hate course through your veins, why not be more expressive? Why let yourself be consumed by ill feels? Let it out! You can be loud or you can be subtle (i.e. kids who don’t seem to learn), as long as you express it.

Those negative feels are like smoke in a burning building: suffocating.

RANDOM DRIBBLES

a) Speaking of expensive earphones, I’m thinking of a way to thread the wires of my Sennheiser earbuds. A couple of days ago, I read a DIY article on using paracord. However, it involved cutting some of the wires, especially the Y-Section where it splits for your left and right ear. They didn’t recommend it for expensive pairs, since messing with the inner strands creates a great risk of reduced sound quality. I don’t want that. Who does?

House of Marley’s earphones have wonderful cloth threaded wires, with reggae-themed colors and eco-friendly materials. But they don’t offer pairs with the iPod/iPhone remote. I’ve gotten used to the convenience of not having to pull out my player (which exposes myself to the bus bandits). In a dream world, there would be paracord-threaded earphones with iPod remotes made out of eco-friendly materials.

b) I still don’t like my new seat in the office. It’s dull. I’m with my superior and our new programmer, and they have their own quirks. But I still miss the IT. I take my lunch there, which isn’t very far from our new room. Laughter is abundant there. I’ll grow used to this, but right now, I won’t be eating lunch on my desk. It’s touching that they pay visits to our room too, and not just because our room is beside the server room haha.

c) Kuya Timmy’s girlfriend Shai has a new backpack. It can double as a gym bag. It’s a big bag. I think it’s called a duffel bag. I like it. I want one, too. Hoh. It’s around P5000 to P6000.

So this is how women feel about expensive makeup…

Leave a Reply

