The Great Divide

Word around the unit is that Systems Development will be separated from the IT Department. Whether that’s only by physical location or by organizational structure as well isn’t clear. Here’s how it happened:

With the departure of the IT Head and the Junior Programmer (two different individuals; reasons irrelevant of one another), things in the IT Department were a bit shook up. Our Senior Programmer was appointed O.I.C. and I, a rookie, was made to take the place of the Junior Programmer.

My new boss was aware that my programming skills were rusty, at best. He assigned me to take care of a Monthly Monitoring System, as well as use it to familiarize myself with the data environment. He eventually had to take it back from me when the clients voiced out their sentiments about the urgency of the system’s development. So while waiting for the atmosphere to calm down, my boss allowed me to take on minor jobs such as data encoding, troubleshooting and some database administration. These are tasks which are looked upon by others as menial, but are seen by yours truly as oddly rewarding.

A couple of days ago, however, a new department within the office arose. Led by a feisty director known for being challenging of her people, outputs flowed quickly from her subordinates. As part of her grand scheme, she arranged for a meeting with our boss – who happens to be a Consultant. She wanted his services for another vast monitoring system. Their conversation led to a point where my boss was forced to let go of some of his other projects, all of which are from different departments within the office, to enable (force?) him to focus on that monitoring and evaluation system.

Unable to refuse, he came back to the IT Department with a defeated visage. It was decided: he was going to have to transfer to another room wherein he would focus on coding. And he was going to bring the two of us with him. It disheartens me to know that I’ll be leaving the troubleshooting behind. I could never understand why I enjoyed fixing stuff for people, but it’s the biggest loss I see. Me and my fellow comrade have ‘programmer’ written all over our job description, but neither of us are sharp with the whole thing. He’s taking interest in PhP and Visual Basic, the latter of which I’m familiar with in some way. The difference between the two of us is that I’m mostly disinterested in programming, and I feel like the whole task is being forced upon me.

I remember when customizing your Friendster page with CSS was the hip thing to do. I never dipped a finger in that. It was, for the most part, unnecessary. Maybe I took up the wrong course, or just the wrong major. I enjoy the tinkering our network administrators do.

But I’ll stay afloat. Like I’ve been saying to myself as motivation, these are opportunities to learn. Perhaps at some point in the future, I’ll look back at this with an appreciating perspective. In the meantime, I’ll just have to earn my pay.

Maybe that shield tattoo will help ease all this discomfort.

Leave a Reply

