Thinking of Inking

The daily stroll to the office includes a tricycle ride, a jeep ride, and a colorum FX ride. There’s also a long queue to get into the FX – which, by the way, perplexes me because the “FX” technically refers to the 3rd generation Toyota Kijang; the same line of Toyota vehicles which includes the Revo and Innova. Why does the Innova have less passenger capacity if it’s the new bloom of its generation? And why do we call them “FXs” when a good portion of them are vans?

 

After going away from my intended topic, let me get back to it. It takes me an hour and a half every day to get to the office. Ho-hum music from my earphones makes things a lot easier (except when I’m in inside a Hi-Ace; I love the sound the engine makes), but as always, there’s a window to look out to and daydream while one is at it.

In fact, I thought of this while I was just in the line waiting for the van.

I’m thinking of getting a tattoo. I’m willing to bet everyone has thought about it at some point in their life. Some have pushed through, some had fun entertaining the thought, some are still planning, and some have gotten themselves inked but are regretting doing so because of a variety of reasons.

I have no intention of getting a tattoo just to look at it one day asking God why I got it. So if ever I’m going to have any part of my skin drawn on permanently, I want it to be meaningful. So dragons, fish, chains, thorns, sharp weapons, grammatically incorrect slogans, or incoherent collages or montages of random stuff are out of the window. Even basketball-related images are excluded because even though I know I can play, I’m not about to strut around the metro with a sports tattoo setting expectations about my skills. I’ve narrowed some of my choices down to this:

  • My name – rather obvious choice. But too mainstream. 
  • A potato – yes, you read that right; a potato. Although people might mistake it for an asteroid; and while I do have some minor interest in the Solar System, I’m not very indulged in the topic to discuss the number of rocks orbiting the Sun between Mars and Jupiter.
  • A loaf of bread – I have weird choices, don’t I? I’m not even a fan of bread much.
  • A bowl of rice – to make it more distinguishable from a bowl of shredded wheat paste, oriental symbols around the bowl might be included.
  • A pupil-less monkey sitting on a barrel – because that’s badass and everybody likes monkeys and barrels.
  • An emperor penguin – because nobody else has one.
  • An emperor penguin with his young walking behind him – on my arm.
  • A tower shield – like the Greeks. Remember when I said sports symbols were out? This is an exemption. If there’s anything I’m confident with myself in with regards to basketball, it’s my perimeter defense. I will lock you down. I will make you work for your shots. I will make it difficult for you to get points for your team. I will make your team earn your points. I will study you and force you to go to your weak side. I will keep you from the paint. I will contest every shot. I will fight through screens. I will DEFEND.

Any other suggestions?

music_penguin_tattoo_by_peak_a_boo_britt-d4pn09z

By the way, this wasn’t what I had in mind.

6 comments
  1. Hello! Tower shields sounds like an awesome choice. I currently have three tattoos. All of which are intensely meaningful.

    I have the symbol for iron, some random song title, and a swallow.

    As with the first tattoo, it has to be really thought about. Design, placement and the artist are all considerations.

    Search tumblr and pinterest for ideas. :) id love to read about your real possible choices soon. :)

    • I was actually digging the big old emperor penguin, but it does lack any meaning (like the potato and the loaf of bread).

      Okay, so intimidating tower shield it is. As an additional perk, I do tend to be overprotective of people around me especially the ones close.

      I’ll get back to you on that haha. Thanks D!

    • by the way, i remember seeing a tattoo on your nape; is that the symbol for iron you were talking about?

      • DK said:

        yeah. the nape tattoo is the iron symbol. not for satanism. L:D

  2. DK said:

    Duane! Sideways Stories from Wayside School! Calvin is a guy with a potato tattoed on his ankle :D read up on it when you get the time :D

    • duane said:

      Sure sure! Never thought of ankle tatts before, i’ll look that up!

Leave a Reply

